The time Tim Kring called me a Dipshit

heroes_captionthisGather round and settle in dear readers to hear the tale of the time Tim Kring called me a dipshit, maybe he called you one too.  This past weekend the screenwriters expo held a panel which was to feature Kring and two of his writer-show runner friends Loeb and Alexander.  As most well know they were quite publicly fired just days before.  I’m surprised Kring showed up seeing as the topic of discussion went exactly as one would have predicted, right to whats wrong and how are you going to fix it?

Kring first insulted his viewers by implying that it was the serialized storyline that was too hard for them to follow, that his audience didnt have the attention span to keep up with evolving characters, if you can call them that.  He blamed the public’s move away from traditional methods of viewing, going as far as to say:  

“Now you can watch it when you want, where you want, how you want to watch it, and almost all of those ways are superior to watching it on air. So [watching it] on air is related to the saps and the dipshits who can’t figure out how to watch it in a superior way.”    source, wait, check this one too-really good  

Insulting your audience is probably the first place I would start when trying to ‘fix’ a program that viewers and critics alike agree is broken.  His potential solution to our diminished attention span is to try a ‘one off’ style for the show.  I will go on the record now saying that this is a terrible idea.  I hope for the sake of the few characters I do love on the show that Beeman clears his throat and reminds people of the legend of Smallville’s freak of the week pattern and exactly where it got them and the show runners.  I’ve read a few articles who imply that Kring is the problem with Heroes.  Can I say that?  I’m not sure but publicly abusing Loeb and Alexander as scapegoats wasn’t what the public wanted either. 

It’s understandable that we the viewing public are a strange beast but I don’t think the fact that I tune in weekly and sit in front of that box in my living room makes me a sap or any less intelligent than someone who’s downloading it other than the fact that I’m not sitting behind my computer cackling at how I’m screwing the network out of advertising dollars, which I’m pretty sure isn’t any ones motive in downloading or streaming shows at a more convenient time.  If what’s truly wrong with your program Mr Kring is ratings then lets talk about how outdated and flawed the Nielsen system is and what we can do about that.

-DoubleBitch


Bookmark and Share

~ by doublebitch on November 21, 2008.

5 Responses to “The time Tim Kring called me a Dipshit”

  1. NEEDS MORE GRUNNY!

  2. I knew exactly what that was. And I clicked on it. With relish.

  3. Yeah, agree with you. Kring is an idiot. Smallville got much better when they fired Gough and Miller – everyone knows that!

  4. I own both the red and blue shirts pictured in this entry.
    And wear them from time to time.
    … that is all.

  5. That’s hot Will.

Leave a Reply

 
