Variety, not so much the spice of life

rosie_makeupI actually sat through the entirety of Rosie O’Donnell’s Thanksgiving live variety show and was less entertained than during the 45 minutes I watched YouTubeLive.  YouTubeLive pulled in more celebrities that I actually cared about and had less off key singing.

It’s not that I don’t like Rosie O’Donnell, because I kinda do.  She was great in that Flintstones movie with my favorite pre-Jesus fever Baldwin.  I think she’s pretty funny most of the time but her time on The View has ruined her idea of what the public wants to see.  She took her few moments of commentary to talk about Obama and used Clay Aiken for a gay joke that he wasn’t the object of.  I get it.  She’s gay, she has kids.  I’m proud of her for that but it doesn’t really make up for her inability to sing.

I think the target audience was about 65.  If it was, they probably did alright.  The random acts were well random and less entertaining than an episode of dancing with the stars.  The guys that danced on the segueways while a girl hulahooped and another one spun some umbrellas was at least better than her singing.  Highlight of the night goes to Alec Baldwin speaking into her breasts annnd maybe Conan getting a pie in the face.

I really don’t understand Americans.

-DoubleBitch


Bookmark and Share

~ by doublebitch on November 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “Variety, not so much the spice of life”

  1. I’ve never understood the appeal of variety shows, they’ve always seemed really sucktastic to me. And strangely awkward.

  2. I kinda liked the really old ones. I like broadway stuff. Oh she should have had Pa Kent come do the Oklahoma song!

Leave a Reply

 
