The Quirky/Crazy Disparity

We’re now ten episodes into Fringe, which as you may remember I wasn’t completely sold on before. So, has the show progressed from that point? Quite a bit, though all the movement hasn’t been in a forward direction. First up, I don’t see a reason for digging into the pasts of any of the main characters. It seems unnecessary to show Peter or Olivia’s backstory, and with Walter not remembering his past is an important part of the show. Getting into this stuff would just take away from the Weird Science Mysteries, so let’s not do that.

fringe-01Next, Olivia has been more interesting as of late, as they add more of John Scott’s memories to hers. Also, the more recent episodes have had a more sufficient level of Astrid, so that’s another check in the positive column, though I would still like to see her role in the series increase over time (I’m thinking equivalent to Mac on VMars would be good). I think that the Pattern storyline has been progressing at a better pace, though still slower than I’d like.

These are all changes for the better, but then we have Walter. It seems they’ve been somewhat weening him off of the crazy, instead making him more of your standard ‘quirky scientist’ character. Sure, he still rambles and loses his train of thought, but in early eps he was genuinely crazy, and they had to wade through said crazy to reach his scientific background in the hopes that it could lead them to a solution to the mystery of the week. Now, he seems to be more capable of producing results. Hopefully this is just a lapse on the writers’ part and he’ll be back to his crazy self, because if not then one of the main draws of the show has been significantly altered.

This week’s episode focused more on attempts to jog Walter’s memory than on his actual scientific skills, which neatly sidestepped the quirky/crazy thing.  If changeups like this are required to stop from having to lower Walter’s crazy meter, than I’m all for it. As it stands, the show seems to have taken two steps forward and one step back, but that still provides us with forward movement. I’m still not 100% into the show, but it’s been moving in the right direction and I’m still sticking with it. Updated Jerk rating: Let’s say 7.8/10 now.

-Jerk


Bookmark and Share

~ by Jerk on December 4, 2008.

3 Responses to “The Quirky/Crazy Disparity”

  1. I’m still waiting on your final verdict before I jump in on this one.

  2. Still haven’t given up on it, so that’s good! But yeah, better things to watch, easily.

  3. I’ve been trying to watch and I’m not sure how I feel about it. I’m still watching but half the time I have no idea what is going on. Not sure if that’s an indictment on me or the show!

Leave a Reply

 
