A Bit of a Rant on Rumors and Spinoffs

I just read a story about the CW denyinggossip-girl rumors of a Gossip Girl spinoff. Partway down the article it mentioned that this wasn’t even the first time such rumors have been debunked, there were some last season as well. Yes, spinoff rumors during the first season of a show. Even now, a quick tv.com check shows that Gossip Girl has only had a grand total of 31 episodes. Does this not seem a little crazy to anyone else? How could such a young show possible rate/need a spinoff? Even ignoring the fact that spinoffs rarely manage to last more than a season or two (people need to realize that ‘my favourite character’ doesn’t mean ‘they can carry a show of their own’ in almost every case), it seems like a show would have to be horribly mismanaged if it wasn’t able to reign in its storylines after only 30 episodes. I’m not saying this is the case with Gossip Girl, as I don’t watch it. In fact, I can pretty much guarantee that this isn’t the case, and the spinoff rumors were just extremely poorly (or just plain not) researched. I don’t care how popular the show, or how large the cast, planning a spinoff at this point would do nothing but dilute the brand.

angelThere have been very few shows that have either the diverse ‘verse or the fan base to actually support two shows on the air at the same time. In fact, the only successful example I can think of from the past couple decades would be Buffy and Angel. At 110 episodes, Angel is easily one of the most successful spinoffs in history (it could be the most successful? I’m not going to actually research it for this post). Many popular shows can’t even support a spinoff after they’ve finished their run (Friends/Joey comes to mind), so the fact that both Whedon shows ran together for four full seasons is really impressive.

So taking all of this into account, why would anyone think planning a spinoff during the first or second season of a show would be successful? I think I’m starting to ramble here, what I’m trying to say is that spinoffs rarely work out, and that the Gossip Girl rumors are dumb.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on December 14, 2008.

6 Responses to “A Bit of a Rant on Rumors and Spinoffs”

  1. Frasier ran 11 seasons. shit. But it started 4 months after Cheers’ 11 season run ended. wow.

    anyway, my only comment is that while a spinoff for Gossip Girl is a stupid idea/rumor, Dawn Ostroff is also pretty dumb.

  2. Yeah, this was more of a commentary on the fact that the CW has next to nothing going for it so the idea was floating out there. I do watch GG, yeah, I do, and the character that they talked about spinning off was probably the least liked. It would have pleased me to be rid of her but I sure wouldn’t have watched her new show.

    Angel/Buffy definitely has to be a rare one. I guess right now we have Grey’s/Private Practice but it’s early there.

  3. Speaking of Scifi. Stargate SG-1, Atlantis, upcoming Universe and the movies could be categorised as successful, couldn’t it? Or perhaps that’s a verse of it’s own.

    As for Buffy and Angel, that was the time when I adored the spin-off more than I ever liked the original series.

  4. That’s true Stargate has pulled that off, I wonder how BSG and Caprica will do, though again not simultanious.

    I am also a bigger Angel fan than Buffy but I think that has something to do with me being a chick.

  5. I’m a bigger Buffy fan, though I think that has more to do with having more episodes. Were there even amounts, I think at the quality Angel was at it would have surpassed Buffy.

  6. I was a much bigger Buffy fan, but I adore Angel as well. Nothing will ever pass up Buffy, but the reason is simply put as Xander, Willow, and of course, SPIKE! *drool* But when Spike switched to Angel for Season 5 I was so excited. Season 5 was definitely the best, with 1 coming in a close second. However, it got cancelled when it was finally getting the recognition it deserved. Sigh, it always happens with fabulous shows.

Leave a Reply

 
