Jerk's Top 10 Themesongs – Cartoon Edition!

This list turned out to be much harder than the other one. For both lists, I just Googled and YouTubed until I couldn’t think of anymore themesongs to look up. After listening to them all any that I felt deserved a spot on the list got written down. With the first list, I started with 16 themes. With the cartoon one, the ‘deserves a spot’ list started with 33. By the time I had the list down to under twenty, it was getting really difficult to leave things out. By fifteen it was impossible, so I’ll include them here, as five Honourable Mentions:

X-Men, Sealab 2021, She-Ra, Fraggle Rock, and C.O.P.S. Now, the actual list itself. I should mention that I only had one rule: The theme had to be originally for the cartoon, so things like Batman: TAS and Real Ghostbusters were out. Anyway, here it is:

10.) Space Ghost

Somehow both creepy and ridiculous, which perfectly captures the classic SG show. I wish someone would make a modern cartoon with sound effects as awesome as these, they’re right up there with the classic Star Wars sounds.

9.) Talespin

Aaah, the nineties. When Disney put out a whole bunch of awesome cartoons, all with memorable themesongs. Talespin is my second-favourite of these, beating out the likes of DuckTales and Rescue Rangers to make this list. You just can’t lose when you throw sky pirates in a show.

8.) Jem and the Holograms

The ’80s. I love them, and every single thing about Jem is just slathered in ’80s ness. Thus, a spot on this list. Though I do have to say, the Misfits were actually a much better band.

7.) Transformers

While the original theme was a bit weak, and the movie theme by Lion is the most well-known, it’s this version that I think stands out. It’s more electronic, which just suits the Transformers better. This is also my fav TF opening visually, so double win.

6.) Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

TMNT first came on the air when I was 4, and ran until I was 13. Along with Star Wars, it was my biggest kid fandom, so nostalgia may be clouding my judgement on this one. I think it’s pretty awesome anyway though, right?

5.) Gargoyles

This is one of the most epic cartoon themes. Usually, cartoons go for either ‘fun’ or ‘cool’ with their opening, not ‘dramatic’ like this. It really feels like a huge, sprawling story. Also, how cool is a skyscraper with a castle on top of it? That Xanatos has style.

4.) Batman Beyond

The Batman: TAS is pretty iconic as far as Batman music goes. So they took a bit of a chance with the opening for Batman Beyond, as both aurally and visually it’s a huge departure from what had been set up for Batman. I think it worked really well, and this was actually the first themesong I put on this list and an early contender for the top spot.

3.) Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors

Jayce wasn’t a very good show, but it did feature one of the very best themesongs ever. I mean, that sounds like motherfucking Dokken or something! It’s almost enough to make me want to watch the show. Almost.

2.) Gummie Bears

Everything about this show was awesome, I mean it combines candy with high fantasy! Who does that? Disney, apparently. And the result is one of the most memorable themesongs in history.

1.) Thundercats

HOOOOOOOOO!!!!

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on December 17, 2008.

7 Responses to “Jerk's Top 10 Themesongs – Cartoon Edition!”

  1. I don’t know what is more frightening, that I got excited when I saw Jem on this list or the fact that I actually knew the entire theme song still. I need to go bleach my brain now! Hilarious though!

  2. I had the TurboGraphic16 game for talespin and it had amazing music and was pretty good for a game about a bear who throws coconuts.

  3. I think your lack of Vitamin D is destroying your brain.

  4. I FORGOT about Talespin even being a show – I’m so glad you included that! I loved JEM! I even had the doll which wasn’t a Barbie but was about that size. She had fabulous shoes. 😀

  5. I was watching this again thinking about my own list when something caught me. This gummi bear totally reminds me of starbuck.

  6. No X-Men???

  7. Missed the honorable mention, comment retracted.

Leave a Reply

 
