The Evolution of HIMYM

himym-01It’s strange to think that just a few months ago, I was disappointed with How I Met Your Mother. Season three had been pretty good overall, but the post-strike episodes just weren’t of the same quality I was used to from the show. They felt like they belonged to a different sitcom. The whole thing with Ted getting mad at Barney even seemed a little bit Friends-y. So going into season four, I was wondering if those final season three eps represented a short slump for HIMYM, or if they were indicative of the show’s shark jumping.

Well, we’re now halfway into the fourth season, and I’d say based on what we’ve seen so far this will be the best season of HIMYM yet. It seems like when they returned for the fall everything had been honed, the dialogue, the comedy, everything was just at the best it’s been for the series. But that’s not all they’ve done that’s really impressed me this season, the show has evolved, broken out of its own mould.

himym-02First of all, Marshall has been much funnier this season, as I mentioned in an earlier post. Then we have the in-jokes, which I think they’ve been handling extremely well: they seem both more frequent and more subtle, and really make the show a treat for the hardcore fans. They’ve had some excellent guest stars (like super-strong Regis and retconned Will Sasso), and as was especially apparent in this week’s ep, they’ve played around with different pairings of the characters. Off the top of my head, I can’t really think of any big Marshall and Robin eps before, but I really liked them together this time.

I like that they’re willing to break their own mould in order to keep the show fresh, and it’s especially cool because they’re doing it to be innovative, and not to try and boost low ratings. A few months I would have questioned how many more seasons this show had in it, but now I think it can have a good long life.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on December 17, 2008.

One Response to “The Evolution of HIMYM”

  1. I agree with you, it really has been wonderful this year. I really enjoyed Marshall/Robin’s bonding in the last episode, as well as Marshall reprising “Let’s Go to the Mall” at the Canadian karaoke bar. Awesome. I love seeing Lily interact alone with both Ted and Barney as well. This show is really hitting it’s stride this year and I am more interested in all of the characters, whereas before I was really all about Barney.

Leave a Reply

 
