DoubleBitch’s Top 10 Themes -Cartoon Edition

This was hard.  This was really hard.  After being heckled for my last theme song list I took a whole week to think about this one.  I jotted down notes. I even woke up in the middle of the night with ideas.  No lie.  I had somewhere around 23 to begin with and had to create a round robin type tournament to get them down to 10.  It was painful trust me.

Before we start honorable mentions go to Animaniacs, the Carebears, and Freakazoid.

10) Pepper Ann

As mentioned before, I love Pepper Ann.  This song features something I love, the lead character actually sings the song.  I think that adds a lot of flavor.  Not to mention the side characters add some humor and there’s an interchangeable ending where she found different things under her desk all the time. It also sounds really cool in German.

9) TinyTunes

I love that this song sounds like it’s going to end about halfway through and then they keep going.  It’s catchy, it’s peppy and it introduces almost all the characters.

Oh look what I found.. this here fancy “READ MORE” cut thingy.  You wanna see the rest of my list?  Sure you do.  Come on.  Over here. Oh good.  You didn’t get lost.  So lets continue.

8)Sharky and George

Chances are you have never heard of this show.  They’re fish, they’re detectives.  It’s a classy 20’s jazzy kinda theme with a good hook.  You can tell they put a lot of work into the synth accompaniment.  Either way. It’s on my list.

7)SpongeBob SquarePants

I got thinking about Sharkey and George and I couldn’t help but put SpongeBob on here too.  It’s a great theme to shout at people walking past you on the street.  You can’t go wrong with a pirate singing your theme song. It’s also helping keep the absurdity of cartoons alive.  I like that.

6) Darkwing Duck

When there’s trouble you call DW! How amazing was his voice?

5) Samurai Pizza Cats

According to Wiki the guy who voiced this was drunk at the time.  I’m not surprised.  It’s one of the few ‘spoken’ theme songs that remains super-memorable.  Maybe that’s from going for a half and half style.  It features things that were frequently used in the show like the narrative and the countdown.

4) Beatlejuice

This one almost got left off the list until I ran across the video for it.  I was hooked on this cartoon and maybe I’m a little partial to the movie but the music is really good and it doesn’t require a hooky ‘word’ part to make it awesome. It’s highly watchable too which is important in something that is aimed at keeping kids attention.

3)The Magic School Bus

With the Frizz? no way!  Educational, Catchy, Funny? What more can you ask for?  It also gets bonus points for including both children and a sphincter.

2)Inspector Gadget

This clearly takes some inspiration from The Pink Panther but it’s simple and catchy.  It’s one of the first things I ever learned to play on the piano.  Sirens in songs always make them more badass.

1)Doug (Original theme)

This is the worst video of a video ever but apparently people are hording the Doug.  No love.
Now this one you have to be careful with.  Only the Nickelodeon theme is worthy of my number one spot.  Disney took over the production of this show and put a new much lamer song on the front.  There must have been issues with the ownership of this version because I can’t see why anyone would change it.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on December 23, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
