Grey’s Reminds Us There Are Other Characters On Show

mer When I saw the preivew last week I honestly considered not watching it at all because I felt like I could predict what was going to happen.  And mostly I did but I was still plesantly surprised.  Over the past few episodes we’ve seen a whole lot of Denny/Izzy rot all over the screen which has overshadowed some great work by Sandra Oh and that guy from Journeyman.  Even Meredith managed to register this week.

I can count on my hands the number of times I’ve actually felt empathy for Meredith Grey.  Most of the time I’m too busy disliking Ellen Pompeo and watching the rest of the cast hold up the show for the title character.  The only one that comes to mind is at the end of last season with the candles.  I liked her then but the whole ‘I-have-a-messed-up-family-I-want-to-die’ thing didn’t roll with me.  I think a show like this needs a character that’s going against the grain, but what took this further was the mind games that were being played on her at the same time.  They understood each other but what it came down to was the fact that she opened up to this stranger and was slammed for it.  It showed her humanity even if it’s constantly placed in the hands of the wrong people.  Or maybe I just like seeing her cry. It’s possible.

yangDespite my dislike for Big Grey, I do like the relationship that exists between her and Yang.  It was great to see that come back into play after such a long time apart.  Oh and Sloan, can we call him McBroken now?

I still think they’ve screwed up both Denny and Izzy beyond repair and poor poor George O’Malley isn’t even being given a proper send off.  Maybe it’s time Grey’s did a good solid shuffle of their cast and re-evaluated things.  George Clooney didn’t stay on ER forever, neither did Noah Wyle.  Sometimes both actors and the shows they’re on need to move on.  It’s a doctor drama, they have the eternal gift of life.  Maybe Grey’s should chop somebody’s arm off with a helicopter.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on January 23, 2009.

2 Responses to “Grey’s Reminds Us There Are Other Characters On Show”

  1. Ok so I confess, I only scanned through your post, but had to comment because I love your tags: “im too tired to tag right now”, “tired and hungry”! Ha ha ha ha

  2. I had pizza and a nap but I think I’ll leave them this way. haha Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
