On Californication

Due to being sat down and made to watch the first several episodes of the series (thanks Rob!), I’ve spent a week moving this series from the ‘I want to see that’ pile to the ‘caught up on’ pile. Since I did that, I’ve been trying to make a post about it, but none of the pointscalifornication-01 I’d like to mention were expandable to full-post size. So, here are all of them! Fair warning, some of these were informed by reading the IMDB boards and could get a bit ranty.

First up, I was pretty surprised by Hank and Karen’s relationship. Over the course of both seasons it’s really become one of the best on television, very unique and wonderful. The same goes for their parenting work with Becca.

Speaking of Becca, I’m blown away by Madeleine Martin as an actress (despite what IMDB says, her deadpan delivery, wry wit and lack of emotion are not signs that she can’t act, but rather that she can really fucking well for someone barely in her teens), and Becca has become one of my favourite characters on the show.

Hank’s dialogue is some of the best I’ve ever heard. You really get the sense that he’s a writer just through his speech patterns and word usage. It’s clear that he loves language, and playing with it, which is something I’ve never really seen in a character’s dialogue before, at least not in a way that it comes off as a trait of the character, and not the writer. Once again bringing up the IMDB boards, constantly cracking jokes is not equivalent with being insincere.

californication-02Evan Handler’s Charlie Runkle is hilarious, but he’s made even funnier by his close resemblance to one of my favourite comic book writers, Brian Michael Bendis. This leads to me wondering things like, does Bendis constantly get caught masturbating in public? You’d think such thoughts would worry me, but I just find them funny. No, I’m not going to explain why Runkle is sitting in a bathtub wearing a bib.

It’s hard to look at Leoben the same way when you’ve seen Callum Keith Rennie wrestling with Duchovny in his boxers. You really don’t expect to see a Cylon getting punched in the butt my Mulder when you sit down to watch a show, yet that is indeed what I got.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on January 28, 2009.

4 Responses to “On Californication”

  1. This is one of the few shows that I’ve been watching that you’ve written about on your blog, so I feel I should comment. I know how you like comments.

    I’m at 10/12 episodes of the first season, and overall its been enjoyable. However, there have been some pretty cringe-worthy parts.

    First of all, the kids. Characters are way too young, Becca should be like 14/15, and Mia like 18/19 the way they are played on the show. I don’t buy the 12/16 ages. Also the writing for Becca. I know they want a smart, quirky kid, but its approaching Gilmore-Girls level of precociousness. That makes me want to stab things. One last thing about Becca, someone needs to give that girl a real guitar lesson because watching her hold that guitar and sing Cheap Trick was painful.

    Evan Handler’s character is probably my favourite on the show, but the secretary character, awful. Attempting pseudo-punk/whatever look, complete with shitty cliche tattoos, including Suicide Girls logo – cringe worthy. Plus I think she’s a shitty actor.

    Bukowski worship. Yes I get it, Hank Moody = Hank Chinaski. Having Karen list Bukowski as one of her favourite authors, then in the next scene having her holding one of his books is not a sly wink at the audience, it’s annoying.

    The writing of Bill’s character. Let’s make this guy completely stiff and unlikeable to really emphasize how ridiculous it is that Karen is with him.

    Use of Slayer albums but no mention of Reign in Blood. NO.

    Pretty bad intro.

    That’s all I can remember for now. I was thinking of these last night after I got annoyed with the Mia publishing Hank’s new book storyline.

  2. Did you get annoyed because the absurdity pissed you off, or did you get annoyed because it was fucking over Hank?

  3. I agree with you on Becca’s guitar skillz, they’re non-existent. I also agree with you on Bill and Runkle’s secretary. I think you’ll like season two a lot more.

  4. Eric are you retarted, you clearly miss the obvious dry and pointless nature of the show, which makes it pure geniouss!
    I suggest you go and finger yourself while watching my little pony hoof fuck sonic, you boring mindless spastic!

Leave a Reply

 
