Heroes' Happily Ever After

mattdaphneparis1I loved Cold Snap. I never thought I’d say that about an episode that quasi-needlessly killed off my favorite character since the originals were introduced.  Oh yeah, spoilers if you haven’t seen it yet.

I wonder how much psychology writers study when putting together a TV show.  Rebel was who we’d all expected but somehow that makes me happy.  Something tells me they knew this.  They knew it was obvious but were throwing us a bone for once because we like to be right.

I’ve come to the conclusion that Bryan Fuller + Heroes = Gold.  Hell, Fuller + TV = Gold.  It’s amazing the change that can happen with just one person.  This was a whole different episode than we’ve seen for a long time.  I would even hazard to say that this was one of my favorite episodes ever despite the fact that less happened than we’ve been used to in a typical episode.  We’ve continued to do this half cast thing where some story lines get left behind for entire episodes.  I’m okay with this but maybe it’s a sign you’ve got too many characters, it’s going too many places at once that it can’t be contained in one package.

Matt and Daphne got the perfect send off.  I will say that they’ve been the only successful relationship the show has managed, not counting Matt and Mohinder because it’s only half canon.  I wish they could have had a few things though.  I wish they would have kissed.  A real kiss.  They’re in love, she’s dying and all you’ve got is a kiss on the forehead?  I think if we were to be true to the story there would have been some fur rug in front of the fireplace action but network doesn’t want to see that from anybody but Nathan and the Ali Larter of the week because clearly nobody in the world actually looks like Matt and Daphne, that would be unrealistic.   I also wish that they could have had an entire episode to themselves.  I don’t mean taking over the show, I mean one whole episode where Matt could focus on her and her dying or her being shot without something else coming in, even if he didn’t know about it.  Like his wife coming back.  I get that they’ve gotta move, there’s not much time left but it seemed like a slap in the face to Daphne’s death to introduce Janice back so quickly, especially with the baby.  Parkman is the resident soap opera.  I’d love to see just a flash of Matt going to Daphne’s dad, with like music playing over it.  He doesn’t even have to say anything just to acknowledge the death, what it meant and that her father existed in our world but I know that wont happen.

Despite these things I thought it was a great episode and the perfect way for Daphne to go, considering she was doomed to die from the start.  It was romantic, sweet and heartfelt.  I am contented.

Sigh!
-DB

~ by doublebitch on March 26, 2009.

5 Responses to “Heroes' Happily Ever After”

  1. [quote]I think if we were to be true to the story there would have been some fur rug in front of the fireplace action but network doesn’t want to see that from anybody but Nathan and the Ali Larter of the week because clearly nobody in the world actually looks like Matt and Daphne, that would be unrealistic[/quote]

    Hee! So true, the only people allowed action are Nathan and whomever Ali Larter is playing at the time. It is rather unfair. I guess Sylar/Elle had a brief one but since he killed her in the same episode it’s easy to forget, no afterglow!

    As you know, we came down on opposite sides on this episode. I could see elements that I liked and I did like the dream sequence once I figured out it was a dream. Prior to that I was a bit irritated. It just annoyed me that they went to all the trouble to rescue her and then killed her off within the same episode. Surely that could have waited an epi or two so we could bask a little in the reunion?

    I was glad Micah was Rebel but it would have been better not to focus so heavily on Tracy leading up to his revelation. Made it too obvious for my taste, but it is nice to be right!

  2. yeah but she needed the ending. Matt needed to give her that, if she’d just died on the table it would have been for not, and that’s not who matt is. I think daphne’s death was more for matt’s development than her own. But yes, a few more eps would have been nice, like I said, they’re really rushing in with the whole baby matt thing. As if she named the kid after him and didn’t let him know he had a son.

  3. Ha! Yeah, Matt Parkman Jr. is such a subtle name for the kid. They could have had Hiro say they had to save Parkman and not give it the same first name at least, then sprang baby surprise upon us. Oh well, subtlety is too much to ask for I think!

  4. I’d like to add that this is the first time I’ve truly enjoyed Hiro and Ando’s hijinks since… I guess since they went to the bar with Adam.

  5. Yeah they didn’t make it into my article at all, I don’t know how that happened. I was side swiped by the Matt/Daphne thing but I laughed really hard at them and it was nice to see Hiro get a chance to be something more than comic relief

Leave a Reply

 
