Supernatural has a Novel Idea

What I want to post about and what I can/end up posting about are often two different things.  I want to write about how amazing Smallville was last night, or even how solid and linear Supernatural was but I’m stuck.  I’m stuck with the trailer for next week’s episode of Supernatural.  Here it is if you missed it.

One thing I think they’ve done a really good job of with Supernatural is making it both serialized, arced and viewable in a one off setting.  I’m just guessing but the system seems to have been developed that we go deep into the mythology, get a little down and out and then have an episode that makes us all fall out of our chairs laughing.  4.18 is going to be one of those episodes.  “The Monster at the End of This Book” might bring us back to some of the old style evil-crime fighting that some of us (read: me alone) have been worried about losing, along with bringing the lawls.

My first instinct was, wow this looks a lot like.. i don’t know, say the Heroes 9th wonder plot but again my faith in ye ole Kripke shall prevail.  Do you see that Kring? If you could play nice, people would let you get away with murder.  uh!

Is it wrong that I’m excited about getting to see the boys doing their laundry? There’s something exciting about the mundane domestically of things like that.  The ONE time Dean called 911 did the same for me.  I like to see them address the tiny, not really important issues.  It just helps flesh out the verse even more, which makes me happy.

Is it next Thursday yet?
-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on March 27, 2009.

4 Responses to “Supernatural has a Novel Idea”

  1. Ha, this looks hilarious! I love how the drawings look nothing like them and Dean’s mad about the full frontal! It’s kinda weird to have 2 non-mytharc shows in a row but it looks good enough that I won’t mind. Also, yeah, it looks like what Heroes could have done but chose not to. Wasting Seth Green is criminal.

  2. I usually hate the episodes that are supposed to make us laugh so I really don’t know what to expect. Maybe it’s because I haven’t had the chance to read the comics yet.

  3. See this is where we’ll disagree, again. ha! what a week. anyway, I think this week was totally a mytharc episode, it just went in a round about way of doing it. I think in the long run, this ep will be essential in the progression of the story/myth.

  4. Hee, yes, it did get to mytharc. I must have to confess that I wrote that comment prior to having seen the end of SN and Dean’s talk with Zachariah. That’s what turned me around to the episode. hehe

Leave a Reply

 
