Bringing Teh Funny

dollhouse-06I’ve had faith in Whedon and Dollhouse all along, as my previous posts have made pretty clear. I get what the show’s doing and I’m really enjoying it. There are some things I do wish were different at times though. The seriousness of the series, for example. I’ve seen people complain about the lack of comedy in the show (often siting how Buffy and Angel would get really dark, but still maintained their inherent humour quotient). Now, I realize that it wouldn’t be fitting to have any of these characters making wisecracks or scathing bon mots. Honestly, I don’t want these characters to be cracking wise anyway.

At the same time however, the wit is a big part of what I love about Whedon’s work and so I found myself wishing for more comedy, even though I knew I didn’t actually want the show to be comedic. Now, it seems like Joss was well aware of this conundrum, and episode seven was the answer. A single episode that allowed the characters to be out of character and more in line with the character’s from Whedon’s other work. I’m sure there are some people who will be sad that they’ll only get one episode that funny, but I think it’s very fitting.

dollhouse-07What really amazes me is just how much this ep did. It provided a ton of Echo’s backstory, it indulged Whedon and his fans’ love of witty dialogue, and it really helped to flesh out many of the characters (I’m liking DeWitt more and more all the time, and for the first time I found that I really liked Dominic). Episode after episode I’m loving this show more, I thought last week was going to be a high not for the series, but this episode was just stunning.

Kind of sad to think we may very well now be over halfway through the series.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on March 30, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
