From House to the White House

kal-pennI tuned into House this week for the shock of a lifetime.  I very selectivly participate in spoilers and House isn’t one I really care to bother with as it’s pretty predictable that someone will be sick and they’ll fix them but not this week.

The random death of Dr Kutner really threw me for a loop and while at first a death out of left field might seem disappointing if not angering, I think they played this one just right.  Any foreshadowing would have made it campy.  They kept the audience in the dark just as much as the other characters and it made the suicide that much more real.  I’m not saying I want my entertainment to evoke feelings like that on a weekly basis but when things like that happen in life they’re about as random and as senseless as they were on this show last night.

It’s one of those things you can’t shake out of your head.  I woke up this morning still thinking about it and that’s when you’ve had success.  I wouldn’t even say he was my favorite character, and definitely not on my favorite show but House made a move that will stick with it’s audience.

I almost teared up at the end.  If you’d like to leave your condolences, FOX has set up a site to exploit that which leads you back to facebook.  Kinda creepy.  So all emotions aside I had to wonder if there was something more behind this.  Was this a Billy killing because Kal Penn wanted out?  I did a little digging and yes, Kal Penn is moving on to work at the White house.

kal_penn12‘I was incredibly honoured a couple of months ago to get the opportunity to go work in the White House. I got to know the President and some of the staff during the campaign and had expressed interest in working there, so I’m going to be the associate director in the White House office of public liaison. They do outreach with the American public and with different organisations. They’re basically the front door of the White House. They take out all of the red tape that falls between the general public and the White House. It’s similar to what I was doing on the campaign.’ [questionably racist source]

They do know he was in Harold and Kumar right?  I don’t really get the whole American movement of Actors in actual positions of power but to each his own.  This being said he is studying International Security at Stanford so maybe he does know what he’s doing.

-DoubleBitch

(your trivia for the day, his middle name is Suresh and he’s from Jersey.  I find both those things entertaining)


~ by doublebitch on April 7, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
