Chronal Distortion

I was scanning our sidebar looking for a show that had stuff it wanted me to write, and I ended up on True Blood. It’s strange to think that it only premiered during the current television season, it feels like it’s been so long since I’ve seen any Stackhouses. Both DoubleBitch and I were a bit late to the True Blood party, as we didn’t start watching until after the season had wrapped, so I can only imagine how long it feels like it’s been since the finale for someone who watched the series as it aired.

the-other-true-bloodLuckily, we’ve now got less than two months to wait until the second season premieres. This will be the first show of J/DB interest to come back this summer, which is something I’m now going to go on about a bit. I’m a really big fan of the idea of running shows during the summer for a variety of reasons. First of all, it will give us ness to blog about other then upcoming season rumours and whichever shows we’re getting caught up on while our TV intake is lower, so that’s good. Summer runs also give shows that might not be able to beat first-run eps of other series a chance to find an audience, instead of just getting cancelled. Also, the option for a summer run (or starting your show in January) let’s the creators take the time they need to craft their episodes as opposed to rushing to have the series for the fall. This can only help to improve the quality of every aspect of TV.

Okay, back to True Blood (and yes, I know the picture is for a different True Blood, but look it’s a really young Lapidus!), which I felt had a kind of weak finale with random stuff happening after the climax of the season’s arc. I’m honestly not sure what’s going to happen in season two with… well, anything. Jason joining that church, what happened to Lafayette, whatever it turns out Admiral Cain is. It really seems like they could take the series in any direction from this point, and I know that they’re planning on deviating from the books quite a bit now. Not sure if that’s a good thing or not (DB, follow up on this!), but the series had a very strong freshman season so all this isn’t really worrying me.

The show’s back June 14th, guess I’ll find out what’s up then.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on April 17, 2009.

2 Responses to “Chronal Distortion”

  1. uhh I would follow up but I havent been able to push through much of the books at all. I’ll try to get on that. I think the proximity of the books to the first season is sort of a bad thing from the eyes of someone watching then reading. I dont really care seeing as I already know whats happening but I’d feel guilty just skipping to the next book. I think the same thing would have happend to me with watchmen had I not insisted on reading it first despite there being some huge differences.

    We should do a round up of when good shows are coming back. I have this feeling that TNT is gonna dominate this summer. Also? RTB is a TNT show right? They’re airing it on CTV now. Think we’ll maybe see leverage? That would be sweet. Maybe we could work on a letter writing thing.

    um yay true blood!? I dont know, I love this show too. I hear Lafayette’s gone. I’m interested to see what happens with the rest of the vamps and to learn more about sookie. Not to mention my love for tara. I really like the characters in this series and Ryan Kwanten is so pretty. he’s like if Jensen was from Australia pretty.

  2. I heard that Lafayette dies in the books, but they hadn’t decided if they were going to kill him off for the show.

Leave a Reply

 
