Finale Season: Heroes

The post I made prior to the SCC finale gave me an idea, so I’m planning to make  a bunch of these posts just before various finales air, talking about the seasons in general and my thoughts on them, but mainly my predictions for the upcoming finale. This Monday sees the final episode of Heroes until the fall, the 25th of the season, and the 12th of Volume Four.

sylar-ice-creamI really don’t know how to rate the season as a whole because of the large and obvious divide between the two halves. Volume Three was horrible, overly contrived and full of plot holes or straight up nonsensical decisions. Volume Four was a vast improvement, with episodes ranging from ‘kinda meh’ to ‘good but with some lame bits still’ to some of the best of the series to date. I’ve enjoyed seeing the endgame for Volume Four turn out to not be ‘saving the world from imminent destruction’ for once, and I actually liked the character arcs quite a bit, with one big exception: bringing back Parkman’s wife just as you’re killing off Daphne really feels like you’re just trying to sweep the best part of Volume Three under the rug. Doing that with most of V3 is fine because it was terrible, but come on Daphne was awesome!

Unfortunately, I’m heavily leaning towards the season finale sucking. Season one’s finale was I thought the second worst episode of the freshman season, and season two’s finale was a letdown too. This track record doesn’t give me a lot of hope for their third try. Add to this that Kring is writing it, and I’m not holding out much hope. Still, maybe I’ll be pleasantly surprised.

What do you think? Can it beat the odds and be good? Did you actually like either of the other two finales?

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on April 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Finale Season: Heroes”

  1. I think this episode is doomed to suck because they didnt bother to set it up at all. The past two episodes have moved the time line all of about 15 mins and there’s nothing going on. I dont care if Sylar gets to the president. If I had any idea what he was going to do when he got there I might care but I don’t.

  2. I’m hoping that Danko doesn’t die, I’d actually like to keep him and his taskforce around as a recurring villain now and then, just get Sylar out of it so he can have a different plot going on. Though I’m pretty sure that won’t happen.

Leave a Reply

 
