Jerk's 'Things I Was Not Expecting' #4: The Games Vampyr

By the time I got through last week’s ep of True Blood, I’d completely forgotten about the bit with the Fellowship of the Sun’s anti-vampire boardgames. The first game Sookie picks up, Jesus Christ Vampire Exterminator seems like a pretty clear homage to one of my favourite Canadian indie films (and probably the most obscure thing I own on DVD), Jesus Christ Vampire Hunter:

I was still in the process of…. uh, manly-squeeing over this and so I almost missed the next, even cooler reference. I actually had to pause the ep and go back just to make sure I’d seen what I thought I’d seen, and sure enough I had. Check it:true blood kiefer

That’s right, the drawing on the cover of The Send ‘Em Back to Hell Game is of none other than Kiefer Sutherland’s David from The Lost Boys! Yes, I’m that good at noticing Kiefer.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on August 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
