Warehouse 13: Way More Popular Than I Would Have Thought

Warehouse 13 is a really fun series that has managed to skirt the line of nerdy facts and fun adventure in much the same way an Indiana Jones film does, but with the wonderfully geeky and dopey Pete Lattimer instead of Indy. I’d go so far as to say it’s my second favourite show of this summer season, behind True Blood but managing to edge out Leverage (!). So of course I was happy to hear that SyFy had picked up Warehouse 13 for a second season.

warehouse 004I was pretty shocked by the info that came along with this announcement though. It seems Warehouse 13 has been doing much, much better than I would have thought. I thought the concept sounded like something that could go either way, a cool little genre show or Relic Hunter 2.0. The main reasons I actually took the time to check the show out were as follows: Jane Espenson, Saul Rubinek, and Drew Z. Greenberg. So when the show ended up being really good, I figured it would have cult appeal that could spread to better ratings were the show given a second season.

I may have been wrong. Turns out that for the seven episodes we’ve had to date, Warehouse 13 has been averaging around 4 million viewers per ep. To give you a little perspective, the first season of BSG only got 2.86. To put it in even more perspective, if this trend continues Warehouse 13 will have the best premiere season of any show on SyFy ever.

I don’t know where all these people came from, or how they found out about Warehouse 13, but I’m glad they’re here, and hopefully this means the show will be around for a good, long time.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on August 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
