Jerk's TV Geeks V: The Ones That Didn't Make It

To finish off this week of geekitude, here’s a look at some of the names that almost graced my list(s) but didn’t.

lone gunmenFirst up, the Lone Gunmen. I’m sure some of you were wondering how none of my lists could feature Langly, Byers, or Frohike. Unlike Jonathan, who I saw as separate and geekier than the rest of the Troika, The Lone Gunmen need to be taken as a group. Geekier than the sum of their parts. It seemed unfair to count all three of them as one entry on the list, and there’s no way they get to take up 60% of a list, so no Gunmen.

Next up, Leonard Hofstadter from Big Bang Theory. He’s clearly not as Nerdy or Dorky as Sheldon, so if he didn’t make those lists Leonard sure isn’t gonna. As for Geeky, Leonard almost sold his action figures for a girl. Geek FAIL.

How about the other two thirds of the Troika, Andrew Wells and Warren Meers? Warren would come closest to making the Nerd list, and he’s far, far behind the people who actually made it. Andrew was in consideration for the Dork list for a while, but his weirdness is more (I’m waving my hands here, trying to describe)… theatrical? I guess? Then it is Dorky.

edgar stilesNext, 24’s Edgar Stiles. He had a chance at both the Nerd and Dork lists, but in the end he just wasn’t Nerdy or Dorky enough. Also, rewatching 24 this year I found I really didn’t like Edgar (I did when I first watched the show, s’strange), so that didn’t help him.

Last up, Topher Brink from Dollhouse. I really like his kinda arrogant-to-the-point-of-douchey style of Nerd, it’s different from what’s normally seen on TV. But Nerd was easily the category with the fiercest competition, and in the end he just didn’t make it. He’d so be my number six though.

So, there you have it, these are who I felt to be the stronger contenders to not place. Now, feel free to point out my glaring omissions and yell at me for not having them on. Alternately, praise me for my brilliant choices.

Hoping DB feels like posting something at some point,
-Jerk

~ by Jerk on September 10, 2009.

4 Responses to “Jerk's TV Geeks V: The Ones That Didn't Make It”

  1. better?

  2. I think the Lone Gunmen deserve their own post about how they managed to blend in nerdiness, geekiness and a certain touch of dorkiness together in a package worth of its own short lived show.

  3. Yes, I approve of the posting.

    As for the Lone Gunmen, I agree but I’ve been waiting to rewatch, I haven’t seen since it originally aired. I do own the DVD though, but not any X-Files seasons yet. S’odd.

  4. I wonder if the Leonard Hofstadter character is a nod to Douglas Hofstadter. If so, great nerd reference.

Leave a Reply

 
