Big Bang Theory defies age

big-bang-theory-castAs some of you may know, It’s Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend and for the first time in all the years of my life I wouldn’t be spending it with my family.  No, I finally decided to bite the bullet and spend it with my boyfriend’s family.  Okay, so this doesn’t sound very TV related, but it is.  I’ve been with my boyfriend for many years.  Well many years in twenty-something relationship years, and I’d yet to meet his grandparents.  I was all nervous, changing my outfit 3 times before we left the house, double checking that my make-up wasn’t anything that could resemble ‘hoochy’.   I didn’t really know what exactly to expect but imagine my surprise when his grandmother uttered something jerkdoublebitch blog worthy.

We were sitting around the post turkey’d table talking when the petite grey-haired woman in the Winnie the Pooh sweater unabashedly confessed her love for The Big Bang Theory.  She went on about how much she loves Sheldon and that one that used to be on Roseanne.  She even talked about how that Penny’s not so dumb.  Grandpa chimed in too to talk about how he tapes it each week on his VCR because he can’t stand commercials but can’t miss it either.

turkey1Now, I confess, I’m just a casual watcher of BBT but I think this really says something.  In a group of people ranging in age from early 20s to their 70s, everyone admitted to liking the show, or would have if they’d seen it.  Even the dog kinda perked up.  There really aren’t many shows that can boast such a thing.  On top of that, it’s a show that prides itself on all its idiosyncrasies to appeal to fans.  Surely these are things that go over my boyfriend’s grandparent’s heads but exactly what makes it good to other watchers.

Either way you watch it, two turkey drumsticks way up for BBT.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on October 11, 2009.

One Response to “Big Bang Theory defies age”

  1. My grandparents rule!

Leave a Reply

 
