Once Upon A Time In Texas

dr sylarSo I finally got around to watching this week’s Heroes last night, and it was really awesome. Not Company Man or Cold Snap good, but easily the best episode of the season so far. As much as I’ve been enjoying the Sylar/Parkman stuff, I think I liked Sylar and Hiro’s interactions in this ep even more. It was great to see someone actually reasoning with Sylar for once! And I can’t help but think that Hiro’s talk with Sylar could be used as a loophole to bring back Elle at some point.

As I said, it was a great episode but not a perfect one, as the HRG stuff was (shockingly) the low point of the ep. I don’t know whether this was setup for HRG/Kate Lockley in the future, or setup for him to get back with his wife, and honestly I don’t really care either way. They’ve done a pretty good job of making retired HRG lame, even when he’s in the past and not retired.

marle and cronoBack to Hiro, they’ve done a pretty good job of making him geeky in the past, but this has to take the cake. Off the top of my head I can’t really think of a reference Hiro has made that the average person wouldn’t get, but wow, a Chrono Trigger reference? That’s awesome, and strangely applicable to Hiro and Charlie, though I wonder if Hiro played Chrono Trigger before or after his powers manifested. Oh who am I kidding, no I don’t, he totally owned it for his Super Famicom.

Even though I like Samuel, I’m getting a bit annoyed that we still haven’t really found out what he’s after. We’re a third of the way through the season now, but hopefully we’ll find something out next week after that Samuel-based cliffhanger.

mo(rgue)hinderAnd can I just say, what a lame cliffhanger? Maybe I’m biased not being a Mohinder fan, but killing off a character who hasn’t been in the season so far (due to death, apparently, so that’s a good excuse) could be a cool twist, except that a) nobody missed him, b) the season’s been perfectly fine without him, and c) he hasn’t been a useful character since the first season. Oh well, at least he’s not an evil spider dude anymore.

I’m glad they reversed their “we’re not using time travel anymore” policy in favour of a “we’re going to use time travel well” one. This was probably the best use of it in the series since the last time Charlie was alive.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on November 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
