An Officey Update

office car singingI’ve mentioned before that something’s been really off about The Office this season, but with the last two episodes before the break this year the show seems to have fixed what was ailing it. That ‘uncomfortably awkward’ comedy from the early seasons is back (especially in Scott’s Tots), and on top of this the characters actually feel intelligent again. While I found the whole Dwight’s evil plan to get Jim fired thing was lame, I have to admit that it at least requires Dwight to be smart. Michael’s also seemed smarter and more like his old self these past couple episodes.

While it’s been nice seeing The Office begin a return to form, there is still one slight issue. This past Thursday we had the Christmas episodes of The Office, Parks and Recreation and 30 Rock. As I said, The Office wasparks 05 more like the show it was a couple of years ago, and it was still completely outclassed. Both P&R and 30 Rock were so much better, I think it was clear that The Office has past its prime. I mean granted, that ep of P&R was really solid, and I think that 30 Rock was easily in my top five, but still.

Barring some sort of Smallville-style rejuvenation, I really feel this should be The Office’s last season. Let it go out somewhat more bangy than whimpery.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on December 13, 2009.

One Response to “An Officey Update”

  1. Full on agreement. Again.. SB. I watched all 3 this week, mostly because SPN wasn’t on and I enjoyed them all but it’s totally time for the office to take a bow.

    With big changes coming up and needed at NBC I could see this one actually happening.

Leave a Reply

 
