J/DB's 12 Days of Lists – Day 6 – Best of Mark Sheppard

56225521I was going to do my list of the top three guest stars but then I realized at least two, if not all three of them were in fact one man, Mark Sheppard. Though he was known for a few other roles in the past, this year he seemed to come out of nowhere.  He thrilled and he owned.  In no particular order here are my three favorite characters Mark Sheppard has brought us over the past year.

The guy we love to hate, Leverage’s Jim Sterling came into our lives as essential to the show as any of the fantastic five.  If there’s one thing a character like Nate needs it’s a counterpart and a run for his money.  The fact that he’s an old friend/nemesis is even better.  Mark Sheppard brings a level of sass to the role that I wouldn’t expect from someone else.  He continues to keep the character funny, even when he’s not exactly a funny guy.  A totally ruthless character who’s only out for himself.  Gotta say I can’t wait for him to get that slugger in the face from Eliot in the second half of the season.

NUP_104516_0571Romo Lampkin can’t be left off the list, clearly from the same colony as Baltar, the only one with British accents, Romo was probably in the top five smartest men left alive in the human race.   He brought about a good side of the cringe worthy Lawyer!Lee line that sometimes left me wondering if Moore really did know what he was getting into.   And there’s something to be said for the actor behind a character who becomes the president of the entire human race, especially in a show that seemed so dependent on the actors portrayals to determine if they’d stick around, be a cylon or get shot.

Last on my list, mostly because I can’t really comment on Warehouse 13 or Dollhouse, I’ll have to go with his brief but amazing stint on Supernatural.  I’m really glad that Jensen got a chance to work with this guy, I don’t know why but he seems like someone I’d wished had been on the show if he hadn’t already been.  Crowley was bad ass and fit so perfectly into the flavor and cannon of SPN that it’s hard to imagine he hasn’t always been there.  He felt like a reoccurring character we’d always known right from the start.  I mean, how badass is this?

-DoubleBitch

P.S. Also can’t wait to see him on Chuck.

~ by doublebitch on December 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “J/DB's 12 Days of Lists – Day 6 – Best of Mark Sheppard”

  1. He’ll always be Badger to me.

  2. I’ve seen Mark in WH13 and Dollhouse and while he was good in both I have to agree that the three ‘best of’s; you chose. If this list were best MS appearances of all time then I’d have to add his appearances as Charles Walker on “Medium”.

    If you are on Facebook I have a “Mark Sheppard Fans” group at: http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/group.php?gid=38598113006

Leave a Reply

 
