Twice the Heroes, Twice the Meh

heroes-let-it-bleed-5-1-10-kcI’ve said it before and I’ll probably have to say it again, a 2 episode ‘event’ should be treated as such.  Last night’s Heroes had it’s high points but overall didn’t warrant two hours of my time.

First off, if you’re going to make me watch tv for 2 hours straight I better damn well be seeing some Grunberg.  I’m not a fan of the split up the cast into smaller chunks thing.  It only leaves us with a lot more suck, more often.  If your cast is that big perhaps we could kill off a few people?

Speaking of killing off, Nathan’s death and how it happened was news to the characters but NOT to the audience.  So spending two hours lamenting it and having all the sour grapes was boring.  If the show was looking for a 2 hour worthy ‘event’ it happened before the break.  Nathan dying, Parkman losing control of Sylar, HRG and Beth from Moonlight.. all that was much more interesting.

I will give them props for bringing things back to square one but at the same time this worries me.  So we’re back to the cheerleader, Peter, Sylar, HRG and Hiro basically, with sidekicks Ando, Matrelli and a bad guy.  Not bad.  Oh and according to the ads we’re trying to save the world again.  This is what Heroes does.. best?  I don’t know.  I was sort of enjoying the lack of ‘Save the Cheerleader, Save the World’-ness that we were seeing.

Claire was actually pretty good in this ep.  She’s looking amazing, finally rid of that ugly wig and looking all grown up.  It suits her.  And I have such a hard time watching her scenes with Peter any more.  They used to have so much chemistry and I’m by no means saying the actors aren’t pros because they are, but my mind will never stop wondering how awkward it is to work with your ex.  It gets in the way of me really paying attention to the scene.

Carnival_signI liked Samuel this ep too. It was nice to finally see where he’s going and a little more on where they all came from.  What happened to HRG and Tracey?  I was actually enjoying what was going on there, I guess she got ditched for Beth.  Sylar was good, but he’s always good.  I was kinda hoping he’d team up with tattoo mom and go on a killing spree even if I knew he’d just kill her in the end.  I also enjoyed the development of powers for some of  our new additions, but putting someone in the fridge slowing their powers was the worst weakness I’ve seen in a long time.

Hiro scared me for a minute there but was pretty entertaining.  It leaves me wondering why he’s the only one left to connect the show to it’s comic-y roots.  I think this is something they could and should go back to on a larger scale, considering it is what brought it most of it’s viewers in the first place.

Lastly, I somehow missed Sylar’s twisty face of awesome but is it just me or are the effects sucking?  In the post BSG world, and considering how many BSG alum have popped up on the show there’s no excuse for lame ass flying like the last scene.  They established a flying style for Nathan, I think it would have been nice to have Peter copy that, or is everything about him that much more emo?

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on January 5, 2010.

2 Responses to “Twice the Heroes, Twice the Meh”

  1. Dude, not Beth, that’s Kate from Angel. I’m making you a chart or something to show you the differences.

  2. THEY ARE THE SAME PERSON

Leave a Reply

 
