A Problem With Quality

I’ve had an interesting problem with blogging this year, and after it popped up again as I was trying to make a post about the Leverage finale, I decided to just turn the problem itself into a ranty post, so here we are.

meh cardAs a blogger of fine televisionals, there are two things that are my bread and butter: things I can bitch about, and things I can speculate on. So if a show is really good and lacking in mysteries, well that kinda sucks. Like for example, the Leverage finale. It was damn good, wrapped everything up, and provided a great ending point for the second season. Which… doesn’t give me a lot to work with, outside of a straight up recap/review of the episode.

Last season, Supernatural gave us plenty to blog about: where the boys’ relationship was going/how they’d reconcile, and then some NewRuby bitching. This season, well there was speculation about the Colt, but overall it’s just been solid storytelling and entertainment, week in, week out.

‘But Jerk,’ you say; ‘surely Heroes gave you something to bitch about!’ Well, yes. But at the end of the day, the scope and consistency of the problems didn’t really change over the course of the season. So, everything we said in the fall was still relevant last month.

It seems strange to complain about shows being good, and I really can’t complain about things I like being well made, even if it makes the blogging more difficult.

What’s required, I believe, is a paradigm shift. A Third Pillar of TV bloging is required, and I’m going to attempt to find one.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on February 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
