The Bridge in Troubled Water?

Well, we’re two weeks into the Canadian airing of The Bridge staring one of our favourite con-whores, Aaron Douglas.  I gave it 3 hours of content and read multiple other reviews before I decided it was time for mine.   Across the board it seems to be a response kinda like when your boyfriend makes dinner for you and it doesn’t exactly turn out like it’s supposed to but it’s still edible so you’re proud of him anyway… Yeah like that.

I don’t know what I think of it yet.  The pilot’s biggest fault was the editing.  A lot of the scenes fell flat because they were cut just before the emotional beat.  Most of the time I don’t notice the editing in shows much but this was so clearly a problem.

I feel like I don’t really get it yet.  I’m not really sure what they’re going for, so it’s hard to get behind.  Of course I think Aaron Douglas does a great job and so do most of the rest of the cast, I am just missing the feel behind the show.  I’m willing to give this show a little more time to grow inside itself.

They seemed hellbent on convincing us that Frank Leo is sexy.  I don’t think that’s such a stretch.  I thought he was sexy going into it and while it gives his character a little bit more of a fun side, if you’re not going to show us much of his personal life, don’t throw it into scenes like..hey.. he got laid… he totally just did her.. got it?  He has sex with her.  Yeah, I got it.

I am really worried about how this is gonna go over with an American audience.  Then again, I’m really not your typical ‘cop drama’ watcher either.   I don’t dislike the show.  It’s better than a lot of the drabble out there but I don’t feel any real need to know what happens next week or any real attachment to the characters other than Tyrol.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on March 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
