Chuck with Less Suck

I’ve noticed some talk within fandom and the blogosphere about this week’s episode of Chuck.  It seems that people are torn between loving it and hating it.  I think the split is happening between die hard fans and casual fans.  Even though apparently everyone was watching Castle last night anyway (over 12 million viewers wtf? I mean great show but wow).

Last night we saw Chuck become a real boy! I mean.. a real spy! in Chuck vs The Final Exam.  While I can understand die hards (of which I’m not) were upset with the developments I liked them.  I thought the episode was strong.  We finally see Chuck progressing in both his career and his life.  We also got to see more of a pairing I really enjoy Casey/Chuck.  Not like that.  I just enjoy their banter and this week John saved Chuck’s ass when he really didn’t have to.

As much as I enjoy Jeffster, the whole ‘they sue someone’ storyline seemed like a stock concept they’d been holding on to for a long time.  It didn’t match with the brotherhood they’d established only a few weeks ago when they took over the buy more.

I’m one of the few people who didn’t hate Sarah/Shaw.  I understand Chuck/Sarah are meant to be together but I kinda like Routh and think at this point Chuck is better off without her.

It was nice to be short a few extra characters, it let us focus more on the main stories but I by no means recommend they continue with this style.  Characters like Awesome and Morgan are far too good to miss out on more than once in a while.

Loved it or hated it, let us know in the comments!

Either way, Mark Sheppard will be on the show next week and is sure to shake things up.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on March 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
