Smallville The New Class

While the plot last week’s episode of Smallville “Escape” could have easily past  for an episode of Supernatural or even worse Ghost Whisperer it brought out a new side of Smallville that I’m glad to see.

The funny thing is, theres no ‘Smallville’ left in Smallville.  The show we were watching in the beginning is nowhere to be found in the show we’re watching now, and while people might be quick to say that’s a bad thing, I don’t think it’s a flaw.  We’re seeing our beloved characters acting like adults.  We’re seeing relationships that we can become involved in.  I’ve been pro Lois and Clark from day one and I’m glad the show’s figured out how to not only give the fans that but make it truly interesting.  I think they have Erica Durance to thank for that and two pretty amazing characters which they didn’t have a whole lot to do with.

Can I just take a second to geek out on the fact that they took time to explain how exactly Superman was about to go sleep with Lois Lane?  It was amazingly awkward but well placed between two friends and Lois’ concerned cousin.

When I was first told about Chloe/Oliver I was convinced that it was never going to happen.  While I don’t think it’s a great plot device, I’m okay with it on the level that Chloe sees it.  If Oliver’s going to fall in love with her like a sick puppy, that feeling might change.   I’m ready to predict that it’s this relationship that gives Chloe her out at the end of this season.  I just hope it doesn’t kill her.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
