Glee Should Look for Two Feet to Dance On

Am I the only person who has a problem with the kids of Glee passing each other around like .. something you pass a lot?  I’m supposed to believe that Mercedes and Santan are fighting over Puck, who’s having a baby with Quinn that she blamed on Finn, who went on a date with both Santana and Brittany with no last name while he was trying to get over Rachel who’s been with new guy and Finn and loops back to Puck again.   This is only about half of the people trading that’s been going on.

I get it, it’s high school in a small town, these things happen but yikes!  Glee really seems to have a problem with pacing their plots.  It either moves insanely slow that it takes half the season or it moves way too fast and we lose tones of time and info but most importantly emotional breathing room (growth) for both characters and audience, per episode.

I was really worried that the show had forgotten about the main group of kids that hold the show together.  There’s been the usual issues that plague an ensemble cast.  How do you continue to involve everyone in every episode in a meaningful way.  For a while they seemed to have decided it wasn’t possible.  We saw so much Sue.    Don’t get me wrong, I love Sue but I don’t want the show to lose sight of what made it great in the first place.

It’s got strangely episodic, to the point where the theme of the week seems to be dictating the plot and things are ending up a little “mama-mia-esque”, which was a concern I’ve had from the start.

Kudos for Kurt.  I’m so glad they’re really letting that voice shine.  I also don’t really understand why we have to kick our star when she’s down.  Rachel’s quest for perfection is backed by the real life talent.  As much as I understand you can’t give the audience the happy ending they want all the time, I don’t really see why one bad thing at a time isn’t enough for her.

Good Luck Glee.  I hope you can figure out these issues now and build yourself a solid story to support your big attraction songs, themes and guest stars.

– DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on May 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
