Kripke's Swan Song – Before

DB here, back again with another pre-game before the SPN season 5 finale episode “Swan Song”.   Such an apt title.  Aside from it being a Zeppelin reference, we know what a Swan Song is in general but lets get more technical:

The phrase swan songis a reference to an ancient belief that the Mute Swan (Cygnus olor) is completely mute during its lifetime until the moment just before it dies, when it sings one beautiful song.

By extension, “swan song” has become an idiom referring to a final theatrical or dramatic appearance, or any final work or accomplishment. It generally carries the connotation that the performer is aware that this is the last performance of his or her lifetime, and is expending everything in one magnificent final effort. (wiki)

While this episode isn’t the end of Sam and Dean, it may well be the end of the show we know and love.  Yes, I’m being over dramatic.  I’m being that fan girl who wasn’t so sure about bringing two girls into the show, or what that weird ‘ghostfacers’ thing was going to be all about but through all these years the one thing that has always held my trust was Kripke.  If you’ve followed us here at JDB for the past year and a half, you’ll have seen that we constantly put our faith in Kripke to see us through and always come out just a little better than we were before.  Yes, some of that has to do with Jensen, but a lot of it has to do with the strong creative vision and control of Mr K.

This shall truely be Kripke’s Supernatural swan song and I trust him to bring us a performance of a lifetime.  I know he’ll go on to to other amazing things but this is the end of the road for Kripke’s Supernatural.

This thought has been looming over me for weeks.  It bothers me so much.  I wish the CW could have kept their mouths shut about the renewal till say.. 10 pm tonight.   I think I would be watching it on a whole other level if I could truly believe that this could be the end, the boys could lose and the heartbreaking end of the series that I’ve been waiting for in that ‘I hope tomorrow never comes’ kinda way could actually happen.

I trust so much that Sera Gamble et all will do an amazing job with season six.  It’s mostly for the same reasons I trust tonight to be fantastic.  I trust Kripke and I trust him to see the show off in the hands of great people.  Also, Sera has written some of my most favorite episodes of all time.

So take a deep breath SPN fans!  I’m expecting tears, blood and enough questions to fill the summer hiatus.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on May 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
