In Response to Swan Song

Let’s start with the disappearing elephant in the room: Chuck. Most people seem to have taken Chuck disappearing to mean he was God. I’d think his love of prostitutes would rule him out as God, but in case that isn’t enough allow me to make a counterpoint: Chuck was Kripke’s avatar in the SPN-verse, and his disappearance was indicative of Kripke stepping down as showrunner now that he’s shared his story with us. Also, I now just assume that Kripke loves hookers.

I kinda wanted to bitch about Cas returning just to fix up Dean and resurrect Bobby being an obvious deus ex machina in order to keep Cas and Bobby around for a 6th season, but Cas said it was God who brought him back, so…. I guess they already recognized it as deus ex machina.

One thing that I’m glad about was that my prediction of who would die didn’t come to pass. See, for weeks I’ve been convinced that the Impala would be destroyed sticking Lucifer back in his cage, and the opening of the ep just cemented my opinion. Needless to say, I was relieved.

Other than that, it was a great finale, a great end to an era, and can I just say how awesome is Mark Pellegrino? Playing Lucifer on SPN and Jacob on Lost, pretty much opposites and yet he’s somehow perfect for both. Hopefully these two roles help him get some more recognition, I’d love to see him starring in something.

Thanks for five awesome years Kripke,
-Jerk

~ by Jerk on May 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “In Response to Swan Song”

  1. Chuck was Kripke’s avatar in the SPN-verse, and his disappearance was indicative of Kripke stepping down as showrunner now that he’s shared his story with us.

    This was my take on it as well, and one that I’d like to preserve, but there is the desideratum of reconciling that position with this bit from USA Weekend:

    And yes, God will definitely be appearing, Kripke reveals, probably in the season finale. “One of the storylines this season is about searching for God, and we want to answer that in our own way.” He says that that’s a tough casting call and chuckles at the suggestion of Christopher Walken maybe playing his Big Man Upstairs. “We’re just trying to figure out God’s motivation, and I tell you, that’s a weird place to be when you’re like, ‘So what’s God’s feeling in this scene?’ We’re talking about what should He be like as a character and what should His world view be. It’s like, when God talks, people listen. Whatever message He delivers, it’s going to be the message of the show.”

    I hope that it’s purely metaphorical, but there would seem to be some traction for the Chodinistas.

  2. Actually reading that, and the fact that the sun glinting off the Impala was what let Sam get control of Lucifer, it was Dean and Sam’s true home, what kept them always together, what allowed them to beat the devil… you could say that the Impala was God’s vessel.

  3. I’m relived that I’m not the only one who saw Chuck as an in world manifestation of Kripke and that his disappearance indicated Kripke stepping down. As for God, I didn’t see him in the episode anywhere, but I can understand how others might think otherwise.

    On the surface, it was a good ending for the five years, but I just hated some of the instruments they used in this episode. I hated that they brought back Lisa (earlier) because there hadn’t been anything to indicate she was somehow more memorable to Dean than the other woman, excluding the existence of Ben. I was disappointed that Adam/Michael got make that speech. I was disappointed that they felt the need to show Sam on the street instead of letting us wonder.

Leave a Reply

 
