Sookie Stackhouse – Rape Magnet

I’ve been reading the Sookie Stackhouse books and I’m by no means up to date.  I’m actually about 3 books behind at this point but I’m drilling through them in about 7 days, which is hella fast for me, so I trust I’ll get there.   In my travels around the city, book in hand, I’ve run into quite a few people who love the books and have pushed through them almost as quickly.  It’s nice to see a good show coming out of good starting material.  There are differences, pretty big differences honestly, but I don’t find them detrimental to my enjoyment of either version of the series.   That said they’re coming out with a comic book which I don’t honestly feel a drive to read though I haven’t heard what direction they’ll be taking for the story.

There is one thing that does bother me and no, it’s not the connection to every other vampire story goin’.  It’s actually the whole near rape thing that keeps happening.  In at least every other book, if not all of them there is at some point, some man/creature who attempts to rape Sookie Stackhouse.

I just don’t get it.  I don’t see the point and it makes me uncomfortable.  An open mind when it comes to sexuality is needed to read these books and definitely to watch the show but I’m not sure it or the character really needs child molestation and rape to be so prevalent in the story.  Sure, we’re talking about savage beasts who understand few things beyond the basics of survival..but for a species that procreates differently, do the same instincts still apply?  Perhaps there’s something going on in Sookie’s psyche that makes all this make sense but to me, as a casual reader, it feels like someone throwing some real topics in a little to callously.

This coming from the girl who goes by DoubleBitch…

How do you feel about it?  Are you reading the books?  Will you pick up the comic?

-DB

~ by doublebitch on May 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “Sookie Stackhouse – Rape Magnet”

  1. I finished reading the tenth book earlier this week (and ranted about it at length) and it’s over a year since I read the others. Let’s just say that if I hadn’t invested this much time into the books already, I wouldn’t be reading the books any longer.

    The only rape scene I can remember clearly bothering me, was the one that happened in the trunk and all the spinning to make it somehow acceptable. I’ve had other issues with the books that eclipse my annoyance towards such things. It’s either that, or I’ve become desensitized to callous handling of such serious subjects.

    And this is the first that I’ve heard of a comic.

  2. I think the instances of near sexual assault may have something to do with the fact that Ms. Harris is herself a rape survivor; maybe she is somehow using her own experience to write those scenes, maybe as “what it” scenarios? It seems far-fetched, I know, but I can’t think of any other circumstance that she would decide to continuously use that plot point.

  3. *SPOILERS*
    from what I’ve seen there was Mickey in the townhouse trying to steal Tara and then I think the other was with the vamp in the closet of her cousin’s place. They’re just so like short, one off and pointless. Like WHY do they have to even go there?

  4. ooh that I didn’t know, and I should have though that was a possibility but it seems like someone on that side of the situation would want to portray things in a more serious or significant manner. Yeah, just doesn’t sit so well with me.

Leave a Reply

 
