Weeds Needs a New Dealer

The 6th season of Weeds is well on it’s way and I’m left wondering ‘where’s the green?’ Any show can understandably have trouble holding to it’s most basic premise after so many years but it’s hard to get on board with a show about drug dealers when there are no drugs. I understand that they are following an organic storyline but something feels off.

The tail end of the last episode 6.03 A Yippity Sippity showed the family getting back into the biz but it’s taken three episodes and it really feels like it’s being thrown in for people like me who would bitch about the drugs being gone. I’m not upset about the drugs being gone, I watch the show for the family dynamic and the crazy shit Andy and Doug get up to but I do feel like it’s the writers responsibility to keep the show on topic. I require action and story to always be pushed by motive and reason. That’s not so much to ask.

The Botwin’s are on the run, they’ve changed their names and are now working in a hotel while their murderous son goes around stealing strollers. Oh and Nancy almost got picked up in a bar by the head defense attorney from Raising the Bar this week. I hope he sticks around long enough to have screen time with Mark-Paul Gosselaar.

I’ve enjoyed the ride the show has taken us on but it’s hazarded on the side of directionless on more than one occasion. Perhaps it’s time to let this one go, or at least bring back some of the people we loved from Agrestic like Conrad. I’m not so much into the Mexican baby named Stevie but I am enjoying what’s going on with her other sons. Maybe they should get a spinoff of their own. The Botwin Brothers.

-DoubleBitch

~ by doublebitch on September 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
