Barney Stinson: Sept. 19th 2005 – Sept. 27th 2010

It is with great sadness in my heart that I have to inform you of the death of Barney Stinson. At approximately 8:22 PM EST on the 27th of September 2010, Barney Stinson was killed while jumping over a shark in the northern Atlantic. He is survived by many fine suits and a series of one night stands.

Okay so I’m being just a tad melodramatic, but this really feels to me like the beginnings of what happened to Michael Scott, and honestly I don’t want Barney to become an overly-dumb caricature of himself. Hopefully I’m just getting worried over one bad episode, we’ll see.

Oh, but silver lining time: Barney may have fallen flat in this ep, but the other characters stepped up to the plate nicely. Both Robin and Ted had some good moments, and Lily had some really great subtle physical gags. This coupled with the last couple season’s worth of effort to give Marshall a bigger chunk of the comedic bits leaves me a bit hopeful that even if Barney has indeed j’ed the s, that the show won’t fall quite as hard as The Office did.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on September 28, 2010.

One Response to “Barney Stinson: Sept. 19th 2005 – Sept. 27th 2010”

  1. I just caught this and I feel the same way. There were a couple times where I went, okay this is funny but most of the time it was that strange uncomfortable feeling when someone’s playing too dumb.

    I dont think of Barny as dumb at all. They started out the episode with him showing how cunning he can be. I could be on board with him believing these things as a kid and even having a healthy dose of denial about his childhood but this was ridiculous. I have trouble believing NPH didn’t argue this one a little.

    I don’t fear for the show as a whole but I could see this having a really hard effect on the dynamic if it were to continue, which it hopefully will not. The moral at the end was nice though. A touching little moms are great moment.

Leave a Reply

 
