The Walking Dead

Were you one of the 5.3 million who tuned in to AMC for the premiere of The Walking Dead? Because holy crap, that was good. I’m…. sorta kinda a really big zombie fan, so I’ve been reading The Walking Dead since it began. To say I had high expectations for this show is a bit of an understatement, as every single time I heard new news about the show, it made it sound that much better. So I’m very pleased to be able to say that not only is TWD as good as I’d hoped, but it’s also a major success as well!

Everything was good, the acting, the camerawork, the lighting…. but what really got me was the pacing. They let things just sit, long shots of people being quiet, which is really awesome. This is one of the  most essential features of a great zombie movie, and TWD even goes one further as most of the episode doesn’t even have music (you would not believe how hard it is to admit that no music is better when it’s being done by Bear Fucking McCreary). Pacing this slow is something that, outside of zombie films and westerns isn’t something you see all that much in movies. let alone in TV. This was a bit of a risk to take and I think it worked really well (though I guess we’ll see just how well when we get the numbers for the second ep).

This review is basically just going to be me gushing, so I think I’ll cut it short, but I do also have to mention Greg Nicotero’s  effects work. These were some of the best zombies I’ve ever seen, and I’ve seen a lot over the years. I always thought the zombie quality was one of the weaker points in Romero’s classics, so getting to see them done justice on The Walking Dead is very nice indeed. Oh and while not an effect thing, I’m very pleased with the ‘middle ground’ these zombies inhabit, neither shuffling nor flat-out running.

I can’t wait for next week’s episode, and I’m already dreading the long wait for the second season after these six eps air.

-Jerk

~ by Jerk on November 1, 2010.

2 Responses to “The Walking Dead”

  1. I know you’re going to argue me on this but honestly, I found it a little too slow but I think that’s because I read the first trade. I was impressed with how much ground they covered though in such a short amount of time, at the pace they set.

  2. Yeah, but I also remember you thinking the original Dawn of the Dead was too slow, so….

Leave a Reply

 
