Cindy Sampson MILF Extrodinare

Cindy Sampson, Lisa, Supernatural, Lisa and DeanI love Cindy Sampson, a sweet, tall, dark and beautiful type from Halifax. (Woo Cancon!)  I’ve been vocal about my support of Dean and Lisa on Supernatural and I really liked how we saw a flicker of potential between her and Aidan on Being Human but I have a problem with her being mom of the week.

I wouldn’t even think mom when I looked at her.  She could easily pull off hot single professional.  I think TV is still a little behind the times in realizing that people are waiting much longer to get married or at least to have kids.   Sure she’s a little older but we have loads of older single men on tv.

Even more than my issues with her being the go-to mom is my issue with Being Human not bothering to look into the fact that she’d played such a similar role before, Or perhaps using that as their reason for choosing her.  I’m not saying she didn’t deserve the role or that I didnt like seeing her in it, because I did but I think Being Human should have realized that they share an audience with Supernatural and perhaps tried to cast in a manner that was less like borrowing and more like casting.

It’s a show that’s based on using an already used concept anyway, so perhaps I shouldn’t be surprised by this but I am.  I mean, they didn’t even change her name!  I’d love to see Cindy in the shows I’m loving, but somebody give this great, compassionate actress something to do other than be the concerned mom behind the plot driving kid.   Granted the kids have been pretty good.  Ben rocked the first episode he was in and Bernie played by Jason Spevack was great.  I know him as the kid from all the Rick Mercer Report skits.  Gold.

Last night’s Being Human could have used her a lot more too.  Her son disappeared from the morgue/hospital?  there were a lot of holes and questions left by the fact that they’re trying to stuff three stories into the hour each week.  I don’t understand why each has to be such a cohesive unit.  Why can’t we let a storyline progress over two or three episodes.  The ghost romance could have easily lasted longer.  But I digress, Cindy Sampson is incredible and I want more.

-DB

~ by doublebitch on March 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
